All Science Fair Projects  

Science Project Forum

Welcome to the Mad Scientist's Forum! Join thousands of other students who've received help from the Mad Scientist and our science Mentors!
Register first, then post your questions below. Registration takes only 1 minute! Meet the Mad Scientist
Lost your
password?
Go Back   All Science Fair Projects > Get Help for Your Grade 9-12 Science Fair Projects > Physics (Grades 9-12)
User Name
Password

Old 03-05-2006, 09:07 AM

COMEBEMYDEMISE is helpful, nice and has lots of friends here
Send a message via AIM to COMEBEMYDEMISE
Post Pre-Ap Egg Drop Project

hello...i am a student in a Pre-Ap physics class and i need assistance with my eggdrop project. though it is similar to all of the other egg drop problem which basically consist of the egg not break when being tossed off a high position, my pre-ap teacher has made some adjustments to our project which limit our uses of certain objects. i have some ideas that i think might work but i wanted to get second opinions to see what you might think about my ideas or if you have any suggestions.

Objective: Each student is to design and build a box of 5 inches in length on each side, which will keep one large size raw egg from breaking after a fall from 40 feet onto conrete.

Restrictions:
the only material provided by the teacher is masking tape (and very limited amounts given). the apparatus may not contain any substance which will splater including peanut butter, jello, liquids, fruits or vegetables, powdered soap, flammable substances or any kind of glass. NO PARACHUTES or aerodynamic devices. if foam, cotton or any such materials which are "spongy" are used, only one of these "spongy" materials may be used and cannot occupy more than one-third the volume of the box. Any other filler material used also cannot occupy more than one-third the volume of the box.
__________________________________________________ _______________